Regular Meetings

  • 9:30 am
  • Every Wednesday
  • 226 Middle Avenue

    Fourth Floor
    Elyria, OH 44035

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. Find the Board agendas and minutes for the Lorain County Commissioners by visiting: the Agendas and Minutes page.


Michelle Hung - Vice President

Michelle Hung hi resolutionPh: (440) 329-5101    
Fax:  (440) 328-2405

Michelle Hung has served as County Commissioner since January 2021. Prior to her service as County Commissioner, Michelle served as a member of North Ridgeville City Council for 3 years.

Outside of Michelle's public service, she worked in the automotive industry for over 12 years, as a Sales Representative, Finance Manager, and an Inventory Manager.

Matt Lundy - President

Commissioner Matt LundyPh: (440) 329-5112
Fax:  (440) 328-2405

Matt Lundy was elected Lorain County Commissioner as part of the Board of Commissioners in November 2014. Lundy served as State Representative in Columbus from 2007-2015. During that time, he served on the Finance Committee, State & Local Government, and was Chair of the Consumer Affairs & Economic Protection Committee.

Lundy is a former Councilman for the City of Avon Lake and a former Assistant Safety Service Director for the City of Elyria. He is also a former award-winning investigative reporter and TV news anchor.

Matt is a graduate of Avon Lake High School and Lorain County Community College. Lundy holds a B.S. in Human Resource Management from Friends University.

David J. Moore - Member

David J MoorePh: (440) 329-5301
Fax:  (440) 328-2405

David J. Moore was elected Lorain County Commissioner as part of the Board of Commissioners in November 2020. Moore previously served as Lorain County Commissioner from 2001-2005. During that time, he created a Trade Free Zone that created tax incentives for Lorain County businesses, keeping them from leaving Lorain County. Other projects include GLIDE, a business incubator in partnership with LCCC, a business creation and retention department, the County Port Authority and managed the Justice Center project, on time and under budget by $15 million.   

Moore holds a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration from the University of Michigan.  

Other Information

All Lorain County Commissioners are elected to offices like other Lorain County Elected Officials. Two are elected at the time of the presidential election and one at the time of the gubernatorial election, serving four-year terms. However, they are often seen as the leaders of county government, and their authority goes a long way toward supporting that viewpoint.

A board of three County Commissioners serves as the general administrative body for 86 of 88 Ohio counties, with the exception of Cuyahoga County and Summit County, which operates under a charter form of government. These three individual Commissioners serve the County at large.

Ohio's 86 Boards of County Commissioners are the budget and appropriating authority for county government, meaning everyone - every agency (with the exception of the Motor Vehicle Gas Tax (MVGT), every court, every other elected officeholder - depends on County Commissioners for their budgets.

Commissioners have authority under Ohio Revised Code (ORC) Chapter 305 and Chapter 307, and have a myriad of other responsibilities including hearing and ruling on annexations, approving drainage improvements through the ditch petition process, establishing water and sewer districts and making improvements and providing for the disposal of Solid Waste.

Commissioners Meetings

The Board of Commissioners is organized under the general statutory law by Ohio Revised Code (ORC) Chapter 305 and Chapter 307. By ORC Chapter 305.06 the board must hold 50 regular meetings per year and the organizational meeting occurs on the second Monday of each January.

Commissioner Board Meetings are open to the public and generally held every Wednesday at 9:30 a.m.

For more information, please email Theresa Upton, Clerk of the Board at 440-329-5103. You can also access additional County records through the Lorain County Records Retention Center at 440-326-4868.

Additional meetings are sometimes held on the first and third Tuesday of the month as needed.

Commissioner News

All Board Meetings are open to the public and are generally held on Wednesdays at 9:30 a.m. on the Fourth Floor of the Lorain County Administration Building (located at 226 Middle Avenue, Elyria, OH 44035), in Meeting Room B. Meetings can be watched on the Commissioners YouTube Channel.  

View Lorain County Commissioners Checkbook Information